I saw the face of brokenness


“We where three kids growing up together” My brother says every time we talk about how difficult and beautiful was for us (my mom, my brother and I) to walk through life. Gladly today all the bad things have become part of the good.

I know what it means to don’t have your dad around and this allows me to feel what orphanages do (in a way). We had some times where there was nothing to eat in the house (but we where thankful to have a secure place to sleep), so I know what hunger means and what it does to your body and brain. I know what rejection feels like and fear of not knowing what tomorrow will bring but all of these has thought me the best lesson on life “PAIN IS REAL BUT LOVE IS REAL TO! SO RUN TU JESUS”.

At the same time life has not been that bad. I have an amazing family, full of love and craziness. I know I can count on them at any time (even holidays or 3am calls) and most of all I know they care and they would do as much as they can, even the impossible, to keep me safe and sound for as long as God gives me life.

But this amazing gift of family, love and protection is not something everyone has. Last weekend I was in one of my favorite places on earth (Caranavi) working and visiting some good friends and I saw the face of brokenness.

“She was one month old when they brought her in” – the director of the orphanage said – “and she is six months now”.

He was holding a little baby, black hair, beautiful round deep brown eyes and, of course, an amazing smile. Her story just broke my heart! Her mom works in prostitution so one day she decided she didn’t want the little girl anymore. ( I can´t judge her but I really don’t understand). She decided to sale her baby. Can you guess the price??…Two cans of bear! (no I am not kidding.).

When I found out this I was wondering, who do I want to kick first the mom or the guy that bough her? At the end I can´t kick any of them because I have no idea who they are or where they live so, as usual I end up crying.

This precious little girl was rescued from the man who bought her and she was taken to the orphaned where now she can have food, a bed for herself, cloth and most important she can have a family.

I came back to my normal life and told this story to everyone I could and someone asked me: Why do you thing this happens? Is it something cultural; is it just the way they live? My first reaction was WHAT??? CULTURAL??? I think culture cannot be blame today. And sadly I don’t have and answer that will satisfy you or me. I can say this is just a onetime story but it is a daily reality. This question took me back to the bible:

“Terrible Times in the Last Days

Here is what I want you to know. There will be terrible times in the last days. People will love themselves. They will love money. They will brag and be proud. They will tear others down. They will not obey their parents. They won’t be thankful or holy. They won’t love others. They won’t forgive others. They will tell lies about people. They will be out of control. They will be wild. They will hate what is good.

They will turn against their friends. They will act without thinking. They will think they are better than others. They will love what pleases them instead of loving God.  They will act as if they were serving God. But what they do will show that they have turned their backs on God’s power. Have nothing to do with those people.”

2 Timothy 3:1 -4

I don’t have the answer to say when all these injustice and brokenness will end. I know that from the times of Moses till my time there where toooo many years and people keeps saying the world is going to end (maybe 2012? ). But something I know is that the last day started the minute Jesus left the earth and they will end when He comes back. I can´t blame culture for what happens, I can´t blame anyone but I can do something about it.

Abandon is another kind of abuse that children are suffering right now. We can´t stop everyone but surely we can help someone.

Jesus saw the crowds. So he went up on a mountainside and sat down. His disciples came to him.  Then he began to teach them. He said:
“Blessed are those who are spiritually needy.
The kingdom of heaven belongs to them.
Blessed are those who are sad.
They will be comforted.
Blessed are those who are free of pride.
They will be given the earth.
Blessed are those who are hungry and thirsty for what is right.
They will be filled.
Blessed are those who show mercy.
They will be shown mercy.
Blessed are those whose hearts are pure.
They will see God.
Blessed are those who make peace.
They will be called sons of God.
Blessed are those who suffer for doing what is right.
The kingdom of heaven belongs to them….

We are God´s plan A to bless other! This little girl needs heart surgery ASAP, and we need money for this so please help us praying for God´s will be done and that He can provide the money it.

3 thoughts on “I saw the face of brokenness

  1. I am writing to let you be aware of of the incredible experience our princess experienced reading through your webblog. She noticed lots of details, with the inclusion of what it’s like to possess an awesome giving mindset to get other folks completely learn chosen multifaceted things. You truly did more than visitors’ expected results. Thanks for distributing those warm and helpful, healthy, revealing as well as easy guidance on that topic to Lizeth.

    Like

what do you think??

