The message of the stranger


After enjoying Christmas with my family and that means getting 34 people together in one house  and 5 of them where kids under 11 years old, getting three people cooking our traditional PICANA (a cool Christmas soup, with beef, lamb, chicken, chocolo –corn- and some other stuff) and three different kinds of desert. You can imagine how glad I am to have some time alone now!

One of my favorite presents of this night was (beside chocolates of course) a good book “The Stranger on the Road to Emmaus” of John R. Cross. I just started reading but there is one phrase that has called my attention “The message of the stranger had taken away all discouragement and doubt in their minds”.

Road to Emmaus

Does it call your attention too? What was de message? How can that message be so powerful that can actually take away all discouragement and doubt in their minds?

“He said to them, “How foolish you are, and how slow to believe all that the prophets have spoken! Did not the Christ have to suffer these things and then enter his glory?”

Luke 24:25

I have to admit that discourage and doubt are in my mind almost every day and I know I am not the only one. Cross is telling the story of the Stranger and the message was the same one that we have in our bibles today, our highway to heaven (as Jason Upton would say).

I have taken my time alone to meditate on the power of this message and I got this bible verse on my head.

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

Jeremiah 29:11

This message does not mean that life is going to be easier or less painful. It means that when life is difficult and painful we have hope in Jesus Christ and trusting that his plans are better than ours, His ways better than our ways and His love, mercy and forgiveness are endless.

Such a powerful message in a world that is falling apart (and maybe ending in 2012😉 ) brings joy and hope to my days. I pray that you can feel it too.

One thought on “The message of the stranger

what do you think??

