Fear can`t tell me Who I Am


I am so thankful to all of you for reading me! It is always encouraging reading your comments, e-mails and getting the phone calls saying that my last post was actually an instrument that God used to touch your life. So let me give you a BIG THANK YOU again!

Fear itself can`t harm us. I believe that the power we give to it, is the one that can destroy our lives completely. I struggle with difficult decision daily – as I am sure we all do – and actually fear has save me more than few times from getting hurt or mugged.

I am quite sure fear was the one that save me from dying once because I did not took that bus that felt of the cliff later on! But also, fear has stopped me so many times from enjoying life in all its fullness!  It has stopped me from letting people get into my life, fear of rejection. It has stopped me from taking risks and fighting for my dreams sometimes, it even stopped me from singing for some years! I hate the power I give to fear some times.

As I was talking to some friends about my last post “I am afraid but He is strong” I came to find out that fear is a good topic to keep writing, so that is what I would do today.

“He who is not everyday conquering some fear has not learned the secret of life.”

Ralph Waldo Emerson

 One of the biggest things of fear is that it usually comes holding hands with lies.  Lies that we believe and they tend to look like truth. Lately I came to understand that in my Christian life I willingly choose to believe fear`s lies than God`s truth. Just like Adam and Eve choose to believe that God was lying to them instead of protecting them.

Sadly, there is only one reason to do this: I trust more in me and less in God!

Admitting that does not make me sound like a good Christian, does it? But it is, as my mom and I love to call it: the holy truth. In that statement I can find the root of my fear, I trust more in me than in God and to be honest (and if you know me) there is nothing worth to trust in me.

I have tons of  reasons (meaning excuses) to be the way I am. I had to learn how to be independent, I had to grow up pretty fast, I had to play the “I am strong” role at home for so long that I sometimes forget I can’t be independent from God, I don`t need to be independent from God.

One of the biggest fear`s lies I have to fight with everyday is:  No one cares enough to stay or  you are not worthy enough to stay. But the truth is I don’t need to play the “I am strong” role with God.  He is not going anywhere! He came down for me, He called my name and He is staying with me till the end and for all eternity. I am worth enough to stay for him!

“The LORD himself goes before you and will be with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged.” Deuteronomy 31:8

So today, like every day I need to fall on my knees and go to God, I need to face my fear and ask him to “Remind me Who I am” in Him! And He has the funniest ways to do it! Today it was with a song! (No, it was not Casting Crowns this time).

I hope you can enjoy today’s song and be reminded of  who you are in Him; you might have different fears and probably different lies to fight with. But in our darkest hour he is faithful and he is “the light and darkness will not overcome” so hold on to his truth and fight fear!

“I learned that courage was not the absence of fear, but the triumph over it. The brave man is not he who does not feel afraid, but he who conquers that fear.” 

Nelson Mandela

4 thoughts on “Fear can`t tell me Who I Am

  1. I agree !! el miedo no puede decirnos quienes somos ni que hacemos. es como un perro chiguagua con un gran altavoz, solo quiere impresionarte..!! gracias amiga ! eres una bendición

    Like

  2. Someone once told me to do something that scares you everyday, and I’ve found that that thought has made me face my brokenness and begin to allow God to mend me. You are such a blessing, Andrea. Thank you for being so real with your life.

    Like

  3. Everything is a life process…believe me when I say I am still learning to depend on God.
    I give thanks to God for your friendship and your partnership in music, your mom asked me to invite you to Pilates, I think it will be too much of Rosa in your life …LOL!

    Like

what do you think??

