Can we find peace in this wicked world of us?


After an interesting time in my relationship with God, where I was, as I said in my last post, overwhelmed by silence I have come back. And the truth is I have tons of different topics I could choose to blog about, maybe some are more important in my personal life than other but today I would like to share a little bit of my struggle to find peace in this wicked world of us.

Let me start by saying that I have been a Christian involved in Christian life and Christian events for more than 20 years now and every time someone says “Let´s turn to Habakkuk” I turn to see people´s faces. It’s always the same reaction “WHAT?! / WHERE?! ” and then there is always someone funny enough that pulls the old joke “Oh, there! Between Genesis and Revelations”.

But honestly, have you being able to read it? If not – even if you are not a Christian – I would recommend you to get some time and try to do it soon, it´s not that long and it´s very interesting. I pray that God can guide you and give you wisdom and grace to read and understand.

Habakkuk is one of the prophets, if not the only one, that starts his book arguing with God. How awesome is that! Instead of getting angry at God or blaming Him for everything, and instead of just giving up on faith or life Habakkuk is honest enough to ask God. (Questioning is not wrong, that is one of the biggest lies at church and in “perfect Christian” life).

“How long, O LORD, must I call for help but you do not listen? Or cry out to you, “Violence!” but you do not save? Why do you make me look at injustice? Why do you tolerate wrong? Destruction and violence are before me, there is strife, and conflict abounds. Therefore the law is paralyzed, and justice never prevails. The wicked hem in the righteous, so that justice is perverted.”

Habakkuk 1:2 -4

Habakkuk is not asking the daily focus- on- me questions: O LORD, why is my car not working today? Why haven´t you give me that big amount of money I ask for the new piano at church? – Or the most selfish one I can think right now – Why can´t they see I am right and they are wrong?

Habakkuk was digging deeper in faith and in life, and God was answering! Yes, God cares enough to answer, it might take time but He will answer. We might not get the answer we want or we might not understand the answer we get, but He will answer.

The Lord´s Answer “Look at the nations and watch – and be utterly amazed. For I am going to do something in your days that you would not believe, even if you were told…”

Habakkuk 1:2 -4

Lately, I have being reading a lot of news about children and young people disappearing in my city. If I am not wrong, 26 are missing in these last two months. Daily I read about one or two cases of sexual abuse and if you have being following the news about Bolivia these couple of months you would know how crazy our political, economical and social crisis is.

My heart breaks every time I read these things or things that show me how wicked our world is becoming. Things like the horrible news about those 12 people killed in Denver or the horrifying crisis in Syria. Things like churches falling apart because people is force to take sides of other people trying to prove who is right or wrong instead of putting God as the center and growing in the fruits of the spirit.

I normally end up feeling like Habakkuk and I have to ask the same questions: “Your eyes are too pure to look evil; you cannot tolerate wrong. Why then do you tolerate the treacherous?  Why are you silent while the wicked swallow up those more righteous than themselves?”

Habakkuk 1:13

Again God answers “Write down the revelation and make it plain on tablets so that whoever reads it may run with it. For the revelation awaits an appointed time; it speaks of the end and will not prove false. Though it linger, wait for it; it will certainly come and will not delay”

Habakkuk 2:2 – 3

As Habakkuk I still don´t fully understand God´s answers to my many, many, many questions. But today I just want to focus this post on the fact that we can have many questions and we can have the strange feeling of peace that I have now. Peace that comes from knowing/ trusting a God that cares enough to answer. A God that has proved us that He will provide the answer and the solution.

“But many facets of God expand beyond our comprehension. He cannot be contained in this world, explained by our vocabulary, or gasped by our understanding” Francis Chan

I just want to encourage you today to be honest enough to break the silence and go to God with the deepest questions you have. Then we can end together with a prayer of worship, a prayer that shows where our trust is going to be, that declares who are peace is in the middle of this wicked world.

“Though the fig tree does not bud and there are no grapes on the vines, though the olive crop fails and the fields produce no food, though there are no sheep in the pen and no cattle in the stalls, yet I will rejoice in the LORD, I will be joyful in God my Savior.

The Sovereign LORD is my strength; he makes my feet like the feet of deer, he enables me to go on the heights”

Habakkuk 3: 17 – 19

3 thoughts on “Can we find peace in this wicked world of us?

  1. Yes I TankGOD 4 deading on d cross 4 us because since he(God) could dead 4 me I belive by his grace I can meek it @ D last day

    Like

  2. love it… to know that we have a God who cares for us, who loves us too much that he took our place at the cross and give us HOPE for this life and GRACE/MERCY to live it … bless Andre!!!

    Like

what do you think??

