Peace came before I need it


I can explain how most of the events of last week were interconnected and how, to me, they explain how deep God’s love for us is.

One Sunday, the person that was supposed to preach at church was sick, so he did not make it to church. But we found a sermon of our future pastor online, so we showed it. Pastor Dan’s sermon was focused on John 14. “Where does peace comes from?”  There were three verses on that sermon that went straight to my heart:

“Do not let your hearts be troubled. You believe in God; believe also in me. My Father’s house has many rooms; if that were not so, would I have told you that I am going there to prepare a place for you? …” (John 14:1-2)

 “Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.” (John 14:27)

“You will keep in perfect peace those whose minds are steadfast, because they trust in you.”

(Isaiah 26:3)

And then, out of the blue, on Monday a friend texted me John 14:27, a friend that is not even in the country! How cool is that. And to finish talkig about good coincidences (God´s perfect voice to me), this morning on my stillness time at the office I read:

“Therefore don’t be worry about tomorrow, because tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own” (Matthew 6:34)

I closed my devotional book at the office and I remember thinking: Lord, few weeks ago my heart was trouble thinking on what to do or not about a specific relation. But now I think my heart and soul are feeling better, at least they are healing. Why do you keep bringing this “peace” idea right now? Are you preparing me for something or what’s going on here?

Little I knew my answer would come in less than 6 hours. At 1:30 pm my 12 year old cousin left this life to go (as I believe there is an afterlife) to God. For the last 10 years he was fighting a 1 in billon disease. When he was around 3 the doctors said there wasn’t a cure. They also said we wouldn’t have much time to spend with him, because this sickness won’t let him get closer to 7 years old. Yet, he lived till he was 12. And we loved ever extra year, every extra day.

my 12 year old cousin left this life to go to God!

my 12 year old cousin! Cutie pie :) 

There is so much I could tell you about this sweet little boy. But I´ll probably cry way too much just trying to write it down. So please join me in the only thing I can do right now, let’s say a prayer today:

“Dear God, death sucks!

We don’t get answers, We don’t have control, We can’t change it or stop it and we are left with a big empty space in our soul. But I believe in eternity and I believe in You. Please help us find you in the middle of all this. As I am sure my little cousin has found you today.

I know you cry with us today as I know you rejoice with him today; he is free from sickness, pain and death. Thanks for talking to me about peace before I need it. Help us find it, help us find you. Help us find in you what we have lost … I know you are God and you are enough, even when you are not… Please give my uncle and my aunt your strength for today and for every day.

Amen”

"Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. "

“Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. “

9 thoughts on “Peace came before I need it

  1. In his parable of the seeds of the word of God sown along the roadside of life, Jesus says that the seeds that fall “in the good ground, these are such as in an honest and good heart, having heard the word, hold it fast, and bring forth fruit with patience.” A good heart in patience is the important point here. Letting go of what weighs our hearts down is achieved with patience. We cannot jump straight out of our present condition into our hoped-for goal. We proceed from where we are to that goal, step by step, little by little, day by day, one situation at a time. Whether we have a week to live or many years, today is the time to begin to lighten and enlighten our hearts and the hearts of those around us. Cayce commented that “some grow old gracefully, some tolerantly, some fussily, and some very meanly.” The key factor may well be patience.

    Like

    • I love this line: “Whether we have a week to live or many years, today is the time to begin to lighten and enlighten our hearts and the hearts of those around us”. Thank you very much!

      Like

  2. Andrea this is beautiful! How wonderful for God to cover you with His peace and strength in advance. Glory!! I am so sorry that your family has had to go through this difficult illness and loss. You’re right . . . death sucks. Praise God we will all meet again in His presence never to be separated again. Bless you sweet friend!

    Like

what do you think??

